Mother’s Day Illustration for Time Out


Hannah Warren has created this editorial illustration for TimeOut Magazine’s feature on Mother’s Day activity.

mother's day illustration for time out

We asked her a couple of questions about the commission…
Hannah this is a lovely illustration for an important date in the calendar. So what was your brief?
“My brief was to capture the character of five different types of mum to go with a feature on Mother’s Day. The five types I was going for were Fussy, Frugal, Active, Knackered and Grateful…”

Which tools and techniques did you use to create this illustration?
“Well, I thought of real mums I know (including my own) and sketched out immediate ideas that would show their personalities. I find basing characters on real people helps me define a character style a lot…Continue Reading

Tell us your thoughts!

